New AA Idea (?) - Cross Class Research

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New AA Idea (?) - Cross Class Research

Just wondering if there has ever been any talk about maybe creating an AA arch for Pure Casters that would allow them to perform "Cross Class Research"? I recommend the Pure Casters since they (we)'ve been Researchers by trade since Researching existed.

The concept I have is this:

"Through extensive time spent studying the Arcane Arts, you are now able to conduct research in other areas of interest."

(1) Melee Research: 6 ranks of 10 AA each (yep, not cheap). The first rank enables the player to obtain a maximum cap of 50 skill in Melee Research. Each additional rank increases the cap by 50.

(2) Hybrid Research: 6 ranks of 10 AA each (yep, not cheap). The first rank enables the player to obtain a maximum cap of 50 skill in Hybrid Research. Each additional rank increases the cap by 50.

Prerequisites:
    • Research 300
    • Arcane Tongues 3/3
    • Ethereal Quill (full 7/7 Research trophy and the +15% Mod counts, but no new trophy would be available) - use a character flag maybe?

So, in essence to obtain total research capability for all classes, a Pure Caster would need to spend 60 AAs in each category for a total of 120 AAs. Ultimately, Pure Casters have been able to previously perform research for some of the classes, this is just an obvious extension of that in my opinion.

Thoughts?
    Mikaal Drazzminius
    Tier'Dal Necromancer
    Rodcet Nife by Birth / Quellious by Merger / Povar by Re-Merger

Master Artisan
    Necrotalk Admin
    EQ Traders Super Moderator
    EQ Magelo Advisor/Moderator

As an int caster, I don't recall having had any difficulty making hybrid spells. The only thing (so far) that I haven't been able to make are the melee tomes.