Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 105

Thread: Jewelcrafting calculator

  1. #1
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431

    Jewelcrafting calculator

    Mostly for fun, I put together an assembler or calculator of sorts, to show what finished jewelery of various types would look like. It's still in testing, but it seems to work so far. I've checked it most with Mozilla 2.0 and IE6, so I'm not sure if it works on other browsers.

    Any feedback or bug reports would be appreciated. Once all the kinks are worked out, I hope to add it to the EQTC site.

    http://www.kyros.info/Tradeskills/JC-Calc/

    Last edited by KyrosKrane; 11-28-2007 at 02:51 PM.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  2. #2
    Expert Trader
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    569
    Very nice!! I found one bug so far: with trio setting, I was able to select 2 identical slot 10 gem and got higher stats than intended. For example, 2 round cut peridot on a dwerium gets me +20 ac rather than the intended +10 ac as identical gem don't stack in the game.

    Perhaps a script somewhere that checks and warn of invalid duplicate slot 10 gems? Or one that blocks adding of second slot 10 stats if it's the same as first slot 10 gem? Also check slot 11 as some slot 10 are also usable in 11

    Trillion cut taaffeite is missing resists
    Last edited by Unapuma; 11-28-2007 at 12:10 PM.

    Grolyn Blacknife
    Beastlord
     T:7
     M:0
     T:6
     M:1
     T:6
     M:0
    Fletching:
    284
     T:7
     M:0
     T:6
     M:0
     T:7
     M:2
    Zira Blacknife
    Shaman
     T:7
     M:0
    Maelin Starpyre
    Vazaelle
    Reiseraa
    Necro
    Research:
    102

  3. #3
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Both should be fixed now.

    Adding and deleting options from the drop-down list would be very tricky, so instead I chose the easy way and set it to show an error message and not update the display if you select duplicate gems.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  4. #4
    Apprentice Trader
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    174
    Doesn't work in firefox?
    --
    I am not the Yakatizma you are looking for.
    No, really.

  5. #5
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    I use Firefox for all my development and most of my testing. It works fine for me. What version of Firefox do you use, and what specific error message did you get? (If any, of course.)

    If the problem was the page not loading at all, I adjusted the link above slightly. I'm not sure why it's failing without the www, but that should be fixed soon.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  6. #6
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    I fixed a bug that I only noticed when testing with IE. Basically, I'd named two elements on the page with the same name, which was causing a conflict. Firefox guessed what I meant, but IE didn't. It should be fixed for both cases now, so no guessing is needed.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  7. #7
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    Nice tool you've put together. Noticed that you have the marquise cut on the taaf and harmonogate being melee stats, and the round cut being caster stats. I think this is backwards, but I can't check in game atm to give you specifics.

  8. #8
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    There might be a couple of errors on the gem stats. I copied the info from the spreadsheet in the sticky, but while formatting it for use in the script, I think I overwrote a couple of the values. If you notice an error, please post the gem name and I'll verify it.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  9. #9
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    I verified the harmonagates and taaffeites and fixed an error in one harmonagate. Uploading that now.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  10. #10
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1
    A very small issue - and I'm not sure you even want to/can fix it...

    When you have focus on one of the gem drop-lists, using the arrow keys to scroll up and down doesn't trigger any change in the item statistics.

    Fdiwen

  11. #11
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Sadly, that's a bug (if you can call it that) with the browsers themselves. I've had this issue before. Basically, the browser doesn't tell the Javascript engine that there's been a change in the box value when you use the arrow keys until you either hit enter or click on something else. It's roughly the equivalent of mousing over the options in the drop-down list; the display won't update until you actually click on one of the options.

    If I have time tomorrow, I'll play with some options, but I don't think this is one I'll be able to fix.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  12. #12
    Expert Trader
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    569
    I've noticed that as well, and it also happens on other forms as well like the resistor value calculator I use. I find if I use the arrow key to change the option, hitting the enter key will cause the display to refresh with the selected gems.

    Works fine with Firefox 2.0.0.1

    Grolyn Blacknife
    Beastlord
     T:7
     M:0
     T:6
     M:1
     T:6
     M:0
    Fletching:
    284
     T:7
     M:0
     T:6
     M:0
     T:7
     M:2
    Zira Blacknife
    Shaman
     T:7
     M:0
    Maelin Starpyre
    Vazaelle
    Reiseraa
    Necro
    Research:
    102

  13. #13
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    27
    Here's my feedback... Brilliant!!! Thanks a ton, Kyros
    Master Artisan Alaene
    80 Druid
    Destinatus

  14. #14
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4
    Very nice ! Thank you Kyros.

  15. #15
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12
    wow that is fantastic thanks!

  16. #16
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Talking

    Very well done!! Thanks for taking the time to do that.

    The one change I would make - I would suggest in the drop downs what stats/effects each of the gems add. Even very severe abbreviations would help., like 'all around' for taaff/harmonigate/etc.

    If you had your page more vertical than horizontal you would have plenty of room for it.

    Superb work, though, I will be sending people to this page as a reference, as I have been sending them to the spreadsheet.

  17. #17
    Apprentice Trader
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by KyrosKrane View Post
    Sadly, that's a bug (if you can call it that) with the browsers themselves. I've had this issue before. Basically, the browser doesn't tell the Javascript engine that there's been a change in the box value when you use the arrow keys until you either hit enter or click on something else. It's roughly the equivalent of mousing over the options in the drop-down list; the display won't update until you actually click on one of the options.

    If I have time tomorrow, I'll play with some options, but I don't think this is one I'll be able to fix.
    It works now. No changes on my end, as far as I know.

    The drop-down boxes where completely unpopulated.

    Firefox/2.0.0.10
    --
    I am not the Yakatizma you are looking for.
    No, really.

  18. #18
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Ah, then you probably caught it in the split second when I was uploading the changes. Good timing!
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  19. #19
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Quote Originally Posted by KyrosKrane View Post
    Sadly, that's a bug (if you can call it that) with the browsers themselves. I've had this issue before. Basically, the browser doesn't tell the Javascript engine that there's been a change in the box value when you use the arrow keys until you either hit enter or click on something else. It's roughly the equivalent of mousing over the options in the drop-down list; the display won't update until you actually click on one of the options.

    If I have time tomorrow, I'll play with some options, but I don't think this is one I'll be able to fix.
    WARNING! Techy geek-speak incoming!

    I did some testing of this issue. The core issue is that when you change a SELECT box value using the arrow keys, IE fires the OnChange event, while Firefox does not. The other two standards-based event, OnFocus and OnBlur, aren't useful, since they only fire when the Select box gains or loses focus; they don't fire if you change the box value. I'm not sure what the official W3C or ECMA specs say should happen when a box's value is changed using arrow keys, so I don't know whether IE or Firefox exhibits the correct behavior. Regardless, this is not something that would be easy for me to correct, short of patching the browser itself.

    If anyone here uses IE7, it would be interesting to see whether the display updates automatically if you change the drop down box using the arrow keys. IE7 is supposed to be closer to official standards than IE6 was.

    Short version: In Firefox, hit Enter when you reach the value you want in the drop-down box. In IE, it should update automatically.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  20. #20
    Visitor
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks for putting this together!!
    Fateseer Eirgorn Stark - 80 Shaman
    The Claw of Nagafen - Bristlebane
    Alchemy - 300, Jewelrycraft - 300, Brewing - 250, All others - 200

  21. #21
    Visitor Aeia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    25
    Changing the value of the combo box in IE7 using arrows indeed updates the stats of the jewelry in the calculator.
    Master Artisan Aeia Forestheart
    Guild leader of Defenders of Fae

  22. #22
    Hobbyist
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    134
    Awesome! This will be very helpful for all the people (myself included) still trying to wrap our minds around the new system. Thanks, Kyros!

    I did notice one thing: Goshenite lists stats of STA, WIS, and Endurance. The spreadsheet lists STR, STA, and WIS as the correct stats.
    Your brain has performed an illegal operation and will now shut down...

  23. #23
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Fixed the Goshenite, thank you.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

  24. #24
    Apprentice Trader thomenthechanter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    164
    Works well, Kyros... but Firefox and IE7 have a bug (not you!). If you scrape-and-paste the stats, you get a whole bunch of hidden fields.

    Case in point --- though it displays correctly on the page, this is what you get when you copy-and-paste (from Firefox 2.0.10, IE7).
    Dwerium Trio Ring
    MAGIC ITEM
    Slot: FINGER
    AC: 19
    STR: 19 DEX: 19 STA: 23 CHA: 23 WIS: 23 INT: 23 AGI: 19 HP: 250 MANA: 250 Endurance: 250
    SV FIRE: 23 SV DISEASE: 37 SV COLD: 23 SV MAGIC: 37 SV POISON: 23
    Regeneration: +5 Mana Regeneration: +4 Damage Shield: +3

    WT: 0.1 Size: TINY
    Class: ALL
    Race: ALL
    Slot 1, type 11: Round Cut Taaffeite
    Slot 2, type 10: Round Cut Cat's Eye Agate
    Slot 3, type 10: Round Cut Lapis Lazuli

    Where'd the 19 Dex and Agility come from, as well as the Regen/Mana Regen/Damage Shield?

    Oddly enough, Opera does it right:
    Dwerium Trio Ring
    MAGIC ITEM
    Slot: FINGER
    AC: 19
    STA: 23 CHA: 23 WIS: 23 INT: 23 HP: 250 MANA: 250 Endurance: 250
    SV FIRE: 23 SV DISEASE: 37 SV COLD: 23 SV MAGIC: 37 SV POISON: 23


    WT: 0.1 Size: TINY
    Class: ALL
    Race: ALL
    Slot 1, type 11: Round Cut Taaffeite
    Slot 2, type 10: Round Cut Cat's Eye Agate
    Slot 3, type 10: Round Cut Lapis Lazuli

  25. #25
    Database Code Monkey KyrosKrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,431
    Meh. I'm using styles to hide the fields that aren't there. The stats are all there in the display; they're just hidden from view. I guess IE and Firefox both consider them to be "real" even though I explicitly ask for them to not be displayed.

    Outright removing and adding them as needed will be a much bigger undertaking. I'll see if there's some way for me to modify the script over the weekend, but it will be close to a full rewrite.
    Sir KyrosKrane Sylvanblade
    Master Artisan (300 + GM Trophy in all) of Luclin (Veeshan)
    Master Fisherman (200) and possibly Drunk (2xx + 20%), not sober enough to tell!
    Lightbringer, Redeemer, and Valiant servant of Erollisi Marr

Similar Threads

  1. Question on the advanced calculator...
    By tatanka7th in forum DenMother's Corner
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-09-2006, 08:15 AM
  2. The calculator appears to be incorrect
    By Leana in forum General Trade Skill Discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 06:46 PM
  3. Calculator Update
    By candle2 in forum DenMother's Corner
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-18-2005, 05:25 PM
  4. Yet another skill-up and cost calculator
    By KyrosKrane in forum General Trade Skill Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2004, 07:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •